llamaperf

M2 Max 64GB vs M3 Max 128GB for local LLMs

20 reports on the M2 Max 64GB and 6 on the M3 Max 128GB

Which is faster for local LLMs?

On Qwen3.5 35B · 3B active at 4-bit, the M2 Max 64GB has 88.9 generation tokens/s (one run); prompt processing 521.5 tokens/s (one run); the M3 Max 128GB has 90.8 generation tokens/s (one run). Those are community reports whose engines and settings differ, so the gap is a rough sign, not a controlled measure of the two cards. Memory bandwidth, which caps how fast a card can write, is about the same on both (410 GB/s on the M2 Max 64GB, 410 on the M3 Max 128GB).

M2 Max 64GB
Memory
64GB unified
Memory bandwidth
410 GB/s
FP16 compute
13.6 TFLOPS
Reports
20
M3 Max 128GB
Memory
128GB unified
Memory bandwidth
410 GB/s
FP16 compute
14.2 TFLOPS
Reports
6

Measured on both

Generation and prompt processing speeds from plain runs (one device, one request, no speculative decoding, the whole model in the device's memory) of the same model size at the same bit class. Each side shows the engines and reported context behind its median. Context can mean a configured window or prompt depth, so these are community comparisons with differing settings. How to read these

ModelM2 Max 64GBM3 Max 128GB
Qwen3.5 35B · 3B active4-bit88.9one runPP 521.5 (one run)MLXcontext not stated90.8one runoMLXcontext not stated

Estimated by the calculator

The quant the calculator recommends for each card and its estimated speed at a 32,768-token context with 32 GB of system RAM, from memory bandwidth and the model's shape. Where a model was also measured above, the measurement wins.

ModelM2 Max 64GBM3 Max 128GB
Qwen3.5 35B · 3B active32.9 t/sQ8_016.8 t/sFP16
Qwen3.8 27B10.4 t/sQ8_05.3 t/sFP16
Qwen3.8 125B · 6B active47.5 t/sQ2_K24.3 t/sQ5_K_S
Qwen3.6 35B · 3B active32.9 t/sQ8_016.8 t/sFP16
DeepSeek V4 Flash 284B · 13B activedoesn't fit at these settings38.2 t/sQ2_K
Qwen3.6 27B10.4 t/sQ8_05.3 t/sFP16
Gemma 4 26B · 4B active28.2 t/sQ8_014.4 t/sFP16

Change the context, RAM or model in the calculator: M2 Max 64GB · M3 Max 128GB

Every report on each card, with its source: M2 Max 64GB · M3 Max 128GB

More comparisons