llamaperf

M2 Max 64GB vs M3 Ultra 256GB for local LLMs

20 reports on the M2 Max 64GB and 15 on the M3 Ultra 256GB

Which is faster for local LLMs?

On Qwen3.5 9B at 4-bit, the M2 Max 64GB has 62.7 generation tokens/s (one run); prompt processing 321.2 tokens/s (one run); the M3 Ultra 256GB has 107.5 generation tokens/s (one run). Those are community reports whose engines and settings differ, so the gap is a rough sign, not a controlled measure of the two cards. Memory bandwidth, which caps how fast a card can write, is 2.0x higher on the M3 Ultra 256GB (410 GB/s on the M2 Max 64GB, 819 on the M3 Ultra 256GB).

M2 Max 64GB
Memory
64GB unified
Memory bandwidth
410 GB/s
FP16 compute
13.6 TFLOPS
Reports
20
M3 Ultra 256GB
Memory
256GB unified
Memory bandwidth
819 GB/s
FP16 compute
28.4 TFLOPS
Reports
15

Measured on both

Generation and prompt processing speeds from plain runs (one device, one request, no speculative decoding, the whole model in the device's memory) of the same model size at the same bit class. Each side shows the engines and reported context behind its median. Context can mean a configured window or prompt depth, so these are community comparisons with differing settings. How to read these

ModelM2 Max 64GBM3 Ultra 256GB
Qwen3.5 9B4-bit62.7one runPP 321.2 (one run)MLXcontext not stated107.5one runengine not statedcontext not stated

Estimated by the calculator

The quant the calculator recommends for each card and its estimated speed at a 32,768-token context with 32 GB of system RAM, from memory bandwidth and the model's shape. Where a model was also measured above, the measurement wins.

ModelM2 Max 64GBM3 Ultra 256GB
Qwen3.5 9B15.7 t/sFP1623.9 t/sFP16
Qwen3.8 27B10.4 t/sQ8_08.0 t/sFP16
Qwen3.8 125B · 6B active47.5 t/sQ2_K27.3 t/sQ8_0
Qwen3.6 35B · 3B active32.9 t/sQ8_028.7 t/sFP16
DeepSeek V4 Flash 284B · 13B activedoesn't fit at these settings36.0 t/sQ4_K_M
Qwen3.6 27B10.4 t/sQ8_08.0 t/sFP16
Gemma 4 26B · 4B active28.2 t/sQ8_021.5 t/sFP16

Change the context, RAM or model in the calculator: M2 Max 64GB · M3 Ultra 256GB

Every report on each card, with its source: M2 Max 64GB · M3 Ultra 256GB

More comparisons