llamaperf

M3 Ultra 256GB vs M5 Max 128GB for local LLMs

8 reports on the M3 Ultra 256GB and 32 on the M5 Max 128GB

Which is faster for local LLMs?

On Qwen3.8 125B · 6B active at 4-bit, the M3 Ultra 256GB runs at 25.7 tokens per second (one run) and the M5 Max 128GB at 55.0 (one run). Those are community reports whose engines and settings differ, so the gap is a rough sign, not a controlled measure of the two cards. Memory bandwidth, which caps how fast a card can write, is 33% higher on the M3 Ultra 256GB (819 GB/s on the M3 Ultra 256GB, 614 on the M5 Max 128GB).

M3 Ultra 256GB
Memory
256GB unified
Memory bandwidth
819 GB/s
FP16 compute
28.4 TFLOPS
Reports
8
M5 Max 128GB
Memory
128GB unified
Memory bandwidth
614 GB/s
FP16 compute
not on record
Reports
32

Measured on both

Median tokens per second from plain runs (one device, one request, no speculative decoding, the whole model in the device's memory) of the same model size at the same bit class. Each side shows the engines and reported context behind its median. Context can mean a configured window or prompt depth, so these are community comparisons with differing settings. How to read these

ModelM3 Ultra 256GBM5 Max 128GB
Qwen3.8 125B · 6B active4-bit25.7one runengine not stated128 context55.0one runengine not statedcontext not stated

Estimated by the calculator

The quant the calculator recommends for each card and its estimated speed at a 32,768-token context with 32 GB of system RAM, from memory bandwidth and the model's shape. Where a model was also measured above, the measurement wins.

ModelM3 Ultra 256GBM5 Max 128GB
Qwen3.8 125B · 6B active27.3 t/sQ8_041.2 t/sQ5_K_S
Qwen3.8 27B8.0 t/sFP169.0 t/sFP16
DeepSeek V4 Flash 284B · 13B active36.0 t/sQ4_K_M64.8 t/sQ2_K
Qwen3.6 35B · 3B active28.7 t/sFP1628.5 t/sFP16
Qwen3.6 27B8.0 t/sFP169.0 t/sFP16
GLM-5.3 320B · 18B active19.1 t/sQ3_K_Mdoesn't fit at these settings
Gemma 4 26B · 4B active21.5 t/sFP1624.4 t/sFP16

Change the context, RAM or model in the calculator: M3 Ultra 256GB · M5 Max 128GB

Every report on each card, with its source: M3 Ultra 256GB · M5 Max 128GB

More comparisons