llamaperf

M4 Max 128GB vs M4 Max 48GB for local LLMs

52 reports on the M4 Max 128GB and 1 on the M4 Max 48GB

Which is faster for local LLMs?

On Qwen3.5 4B at 4-bit, the M4 Max 128GB has 101.4 generation tokens/s (one run); prompt processing 1476.8 tokens/s (one run); the M4 Max 48GB has 85.0 generation tokens/s (one run). Those are community reports whose engines and settings differ, so the gap is a rough sign, not a controlled measure of the two cards. Memory bandwidth, which caps how fast a card can write, is about the same on both (546 GB/s on the M4 Max 128GB, 546 on the M4 Max 48GB).

M4 Max 128GB
Memory
128GB unified
Memory bandwidth
546 GB/s
FP16 compute
18.4 TFLOPS
Reports
52
M4 Max 48GB
Memory
48GB unified
Memory bandwidth
546 GB/s
FP16 compute
18.4 TFLOPS
Reports
1

Measured on both

Generation and prompt processing speeds from plain runs (one device, one request, no speculative decoding, the whole model in the device's memory) of the same model size at the same bit class. Each side shows the engines and reported context behind its median. Context can mean a configured window or prompt depth, so these are community comparisons with differing settings. How to read these

ModelM4 Max 128GBM4 Max 48GB
Qwen3.5 4B4-bit101.4one runPP 1476.8 (one run)llama.cppcontext not stated85.0one runllama.cppcontext not stated

Estimated by the calculator

The quant the calculator recommends for each card and its estimated speed at a 32,768-token context with 32 GB of system RAM, from memory bandwidth and the model's shape. Where a model was also measured above, the measurement wins.

ModelM4 Max 128GBM4 Max 48GB
Qwen3.5 4B45.5 t/sFP1645.5 t/sFP16
Qwen3.8 27B6.7 t/sFP1616.6 t/sQ6_K
Qwen3.8 125B · 6B active30.7 t/sQ5_K_Sdoesn't fit at these settings
Qwen3.6 35B · 3B active21.2 t/sFP1666.0 t/sQ5_K_M
DeepSeek V4 Flash 284B · 13B active48.3 t/sQ2_Kdoesn't fit at these settings
Qwen3.6 27B6.7 t/sFP1616.6 t/sQ6_K
Gemma 4 26B · 4B active18.2 t/sFP1632.3 t/sQ8_0

Change the context, RAM or model in the calculator: M4 Max 128GB · M4 Max 48GB

Every report on each card, with its source: M4 Max 128GB · M4 Max 48GB

More comparisons